Brigaloon, The Walter Fitzpatrick Musical

After His Release, Fitzpatrick Looked At Johnny Law In A Whole New Way

Well, Walter Fitzpatrick is supposed to get out of jail today, and I bet he is just fit to be tied. Sooo, I wrote him a song based on “I’ll Go Home With Bonnie Jean” from Brigadoon. A video is below in the notes in case you do not know the tune:

Brigaloon
I’ll Go Home And Vent Some Spleen
by Squeeky Fromm

WALTER:
I used to be a courthouse pest
I hollered, “Citizen’s Arrest!”
And when they cuffed my hands,  I smiled big for all my fans.
But then they tossed my butt in jail
With that crummy food and some rats as well
You know just what I mean, I’ll go home and vent some spleen!

BIRTHERS:
Go home, go home, go home and vent some spleen!
Go home, go home.

WALTER:
I’ll go home and vent some spleen!
In county jail I used to know, an inmate there, and his name was Joe;
Every night by my cot, when I tried to tell him that I would not. . .
He would just reply with glee, “Oh come to me and bend to me. . .!”
You know just what I mean, I’ll go home and vent some spleen

BIRTHERS:
Go home, go home, go home and vent some spleen!
Go home, go home.

WALTER:
I’ll go home and vent some Spleen!
Before I go and vent my wrath; I’ll head to the shower and take a bath,
(Flush the head for fun!  Now I’ve got a working one!)
After I scrub the jailhouse smell
Then I will get back to raising some Hell.
You know just what I mean, I have got to vent some spleen!!!

BIRTHERS:
Go home, go home, go home and vent some spleen!
Go home, go home.

WALTER AND BIRTHERS:
I’ll (He’ll) go home and vent some spleen!

Squeeky Fromm
Girl Reporter

Note 1: I’ll Go Home With Bonnie Jean. Here is a video of the real song:

Note 2: Venting Spleen. The idiom means:

to express your anger.

Now you can vent your spleen about driving conditions on area freeways – you can e-mail the director of the Department of Transportation.

Etymology: from the idea in the past that the spleen (an organ in the body) was the place where evil intentions began.

Brig refers to the naval jail. (Fitzpatrick was in the navy.)  And loon is an aquatic bird and also a silly or foolish person.

Head, used in the sense above, is a toilet.

The use of the term “head” to refer to a ship’s toilet dates to at least as early as 1708, when Woodes Rogers (English privateer and Governor of the Bahamas) used the word in his book, A Cruising Voyage Around the World. Another early usage is in Tobias Smollett’s novel of travel and adventure, Roderick Random, published in 1748. “Head” in a nautical sense referring to the bow or fore part of a ship dates to 1485. The ship’s toilet was typically placed at the head of the ship near the base of the bowsprit, where splashing water served to naturally clean the toilet area.

Note 3:  “He would just reply with glee, “Oh come to me and bend to me. . .!”  For the un-musical among you, Come To Me, Bend To Me is another song from Brigadoon. Sooo, I played around a little with it. . .Tee Hee! Tee Hee!

Note 4:  The Image – Johnny Law. A slang term for:

A cop.  Oh man, Johnny-Law’s creeping by.

The Police.  Man, Johnny Law was all over my ass last nite!

But also a real person, and a Scotsman, which ties into the theme. (I am sure there is a kilt somewhere underneath that coat.)

http://charlessizemore.blogspot.com/2011/01/john-law-rake-murderer-and-father-of.html

About Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

Hi!!! I am a Girl Reporter on the Internet. I am 31. Plus I am a INTP. I have a Major in Human Kinetics, and a Minor in English. I have 2 cats, and a new kitten! I write poetry, and plus I am trying to learn how to play guitar. I think that is all??? Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter View all posts by Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

4 responses to “Brigaloon, The Walter Fitzpatrick Musical

  • Fred Muggs

    Squeeky this is very clever but haven’t we reached the point where Commode-Door Fitzcrazy isn’t worth the effort and attention? *

    *Unless he does something even crazier and he surely will.;) Tee-hee-hee

  • Fred Muggs

    No doubt but I note that Sharon Rondeau quit accepting those $25 collect phone calls from Walter this time that translated to daily hard hitting exposes about remotely flushed toilets and the heating system at the Monroe County jail. I suppose that saving the country from tyranny has a price that some are not willing to pay.

Leave a Reply

