Miki Mouth Stars In “Steamroll Willies”

Contrary To All Appearances, Miki Really Wasn't In The Driver's Seat

Well, just when I was starting to feel sorry for frustrated Birther author, Miki “The Mad Hawaiian” Booth, she goes and pulls this stunt. Which is kind of creepy. First, what Miki said:

Miki Booth

Bookstore Goes DARK After Rejecting My Book – Chapters Bookstore in Miami, OK got barraged with phone calls and emails after they chose NOT TO CARRY my book, “Memoirs of a Community Organizer from Hawai’i” and gave no reason for the rejection. The following is the email exchange leading up to the bookstore “closing” for inventory until Tuesday:

Jessie, You didn’t give me the option to discuss your reasons for deciding not to carry my book. I am a local resident and it stands to reason someone from the community who has a national following would have a place in the only bookstore of note in the area. The only reason I came in to talk about a book signing was because several area residents suggested it.

Call it what you want. You decided for whatever reason that you don’t want to be associated with my book. I call that a ban. Anyone interested in buying my book should not bother checking with my local bookstore? Furthermore, when you were asked by customers why your bookstore didn’t carry George W. Bush’s memoir “Decision Points” you responded that you “didn’t want to offend your customers,” because you have a “certain customer base.” I see. Well, enjoy your ever dwindling base. Real Americans are hungry for the truth. We are done with liberal spin.

Sincerely
Miki Booth

The bookstore responded:

From: WordPress
To: Administrator
Sent: Wednesday, February 15, 2012 3:44 PM
Subject: [mikibooth.com] Please consider your tactics

Ms. Booth, I have received several harassing phone calls that are saying our book store has “banned” your book. As you remember from our conversation, I said it was a book we decided not to carry, a decision we hold the right to make. Please keep in mind you’re not the only author, and yours is not the only book, that we have chosen to not carry. If we were to receive sincere calls from individuals interested in purchasing your book, we would be more than happy to reopen the topic for discussion and reconsider our decision. However, when the harsh and incorrect word “banned” is used, and either directly or indirectly you incite your peers to call us and throw falsehoods in our direction, we are in no way motivated to review what could be a flawed decision. Again, we would be open to discuss this in a calm and logical manner. Any other tactics are unwarranted, unappreciated and not affective. Thank you for your time.

Well, if the bookstore owner is expecting “calm and logical” from a Birther, boy is he or she in for a big shock!!! This kind of stuff is why people think that Birthers are nuts. What kind of mind is it, that thinks it is appropriate to intimidate people into carrying your book??? What’s next, a guy shows up in a nice suit and makes the bookstore owner an offer she can’t refuse???

I suggest Ms. Booth chooses as her next  literary endeavor “Gorilla Marketing: How NOT To Sell Your Book

Thanks to Milo Milosevich at Orly’s World for posting this!!! If you want to visit Miki Booth’s website, here is a link:

http://mikibooth.com/

Squeeky Fromm
Girl Reporter

Note 1. Steamroll Willies.  This is a play on a Mickey Mouse cartoon called Steamboat Willy. To steamroll somebody means:

To overwhelm or suppress ruthlessly; crush.

bring to a specified state by overwhelming force or pressure; “The Senator steamrollered the bill to defeat.”

overwhelm by using great force; “steamroller the opposition”

and willies means “A strong feeling of nervous discomfort.”, or as expounded on by the Urban Dictionary:

Like ‘The Creeps’, The Willies is a feeling that one gets when he/she gets especially nervous. The Willies is not caused by actual fear, but the thought that something scary could happen in the near future. Too, unsettling actions/individuals can bring about The Willies.

Rick: See that guy over there in the gray fedora? He’s starting to give me The Willies.

Gene: Yeah, I see where you’re coming from. Throughout the show, a few other friends came up to me to express how creepy he is.

Note 2. Mickey Mouse.  After starring in Steamboat Willie  in 1928, Mickey went on to star in many films, including Mickey’s Steamroller in 1934. Like Jackie Chan, Mickey performed his own stunts. Here is a black and white version of the classic film:

About Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

Hi!!! I am a Girl Reporter on the Internet. I am 31. Plus I am a INTP. I have a Major in Human Kinetics, and a Minor in English. I have 2 cats, and a new kitten! I write poetry, and plus I am trying to learn how to play guitar. I think that is all??? Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter View all posts by Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

7 responses to “Miki Mouth Stars In “Steamroll Willies”

  • Reality Check

    The comments on the reviews of Miki’s book at Amazon are funny. I think the reviews are obviously either mostly by Miki’s friends or maybe even her imaginary friends.

    http://www.amazon.com/Memoirs-Community-Organizer-Hawaii-ebook/product-reviews/B0073LMON0/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

  • Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

    Well, somebody named “Sam” sure slammed it. I breezed through the sample and it didn’t look too bad. If it was 99cents, I would have bought it. I may borrow it for free thru Prime as soon as I finish “The Vampire With The Dragon Tatoo.”

    Squeeky Fromm
    Girl Reporter

  • Thomas Brown

    One correction to the storekeeper’s letter: Orly has Flying Monkeys. She has no “peers.”

  • DaveH

    “What’s next, a guy shows up in a nice suit and makes the bookstore owner an offer she can’t refuse???”

    You made me spit some coffee! That is a really funny thought…

  • Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

    Hi DaveH!!!

    Thank you for letting me know!!! I love it when people get a good laugh out of this stuff.

    Squeeky Fromm
    Girl Reporter

  • Gina Richardson

    How strange, I called and expressed a sincere interest in buying the book, but was told the bookstore refused to carry it. They could not or would not explain why. The bookstore owner is lying when they claim nobody had called to ask to buy the book. Regardless of the books contents, a sincere request to buy 12 copies IS a sincere request. Sounds like someone wants you all to think the author is a nutcase. Based on nothing but a difference of opinion, of course. I can prove this article is bull. Lies will not hold up, sharing everywhere. 😀 Have a nice day. P.S. not following comments, don’t really care. But AM sharing my proof.

    • Squeeky Fromm, Girl Reporter

      Thank you for sharing your experience. It is a free country, and if a book store owner does not want to carry a book, then thank goodness people can buy it online. I don’t know if bookstores buy their books on consignment, but I suspect not, and they probably have to be careful not to get stuck with a bunch of unsold books.

      On occasion, I have requested a book store order a book for me, and have never been refused. But if I wanted to order 12 copies of something, I wonder if they would ask for a deposit from me???

      Squeeky Fromm
      Girl Reporter

Leave a Reply

